Match-fixing: CPI cancels hearing with bookmakers

The hearing scheduled for Tuesday (19) at the Parliamentary Commission of Inquiry (Match-fixing CPI) of the Chamber of Deputies, which was scheduled to hear the player Luiz Henrique and sports betting companies in the context of the investigation into game manipulation of football, was cancelled.

The proposal for this debate came from deputies Luciano Vieira (PL-RJ), Nely Aquino (PODE-MG), Kiko Celeguim (PT-SP) and Felipe Carreras (PSB-PE).

Nely Aquino wants to clarify whether these companies “are complying with sports betting laws, contributing to the absence of criminal practices in the financial movement of payments.”

Kiko Celeguim cites “suspicions that betting applications on football games and gambling engage in criminal conduct”.

The meeting was also planned to hear from partners of companies accused of monopolizing contracts with the CBF and Conmebol. However, the CPI has not yet scheduled a new date for these hearings.

STJD will judge 12 athletes in Operation Maximum Penalty, which investigates manipulation of results

There will be additional developments in the case involving players accused of match-fixing in Brazilian football matches.

The president of the Superior Court of Sports Justice (STJD), José Perdiz de Jesus, scheduled the trial of 12 players who are under investigation in Operation Maximum Penalty, conducted by the Public Ministry of Goiás (MP-GO), for September 28th.

The judging will take place in a hybrid manner, in a reserved room at the COB EXPO event, located at Av. Professora Ida Kolb, number 513, in the Jardim das Laranjeiras neighborhood, in São Paulo.

Listed below are the 12 players who will face trial for alleged involvement in match-fixing:

  1. Alef Manga, ex-Coritiba, transferred to Cyprus football
  2. Dadá Belmonte, from América
  3. Igor Carius, from Sport
  4. Jesus Trindade, ex-Coritiba
  5. Pedrinho, ex-Athletico, who transferred to Shakhtar
  6. Sidcley, ex-Cuiabá, currently at Dynamo Kiev
  7. Thonny Anderson, ex-Coritiba
  8. Nino Paraíba, from Paysandu
  9. Bryan García, ex-Athletico
  10. Diego Porfírio, from Desportivo Aliança-AL
  11. Vitor Mendes, from Fluminense
  12. Sávio Alves, ex-Goiás


Table of Contents

Must Read